Home Team Grill
Built in 1887 by the City Railway Company, this building was originally used as a horse-car barn and maintenance facility for Richmond’s horse drawn trolley system. The trolleys were replaced by electric street cars in 1901, and the building was refurbished to be used as a maintenance garage by the City Power and Passenger Company.
A spur line was run to the building and archways were created so street cars could be run in for maintenance. The trolley system was abandoned in 1931 and the building had sporadic use until the 1950's when Pepsi Cola Company purchased it for use as a repair shop and distribution warehouse.
Pepsi left in the 1960's and the building was used intermittently until it was acquired in 2003 by the Blackwood Development Co. It was repurposed and renovated in 2005 to create seven residential condominiums with entrances on Vine Street fronted by a restaurant space facing Main Street. In order to preserve some of the historic features of the building, some aspects of the archways and original brickwork were retained.
On March 15, 2007, Home Team Grill opened for business in this space and has been here ever since. Coincidentally, on this day VCU beat Duke in the NCAA tournament. Home Team Grill is proud to be in this historic building that embodies Richmond's unique history.
*information was collected from Richmond Times Dispatch correspondent Doug Childers article published January 5th, 2019